Collectie Tony Herbert / The Tony Herbert Collection

book, 104 pp., 21.5 x 28.7 cm

Deurle: Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens (MDD)

2 editions:
English: ISBN 978-90-760-3427-0
Dutch: ISBN 978-90-760-3426-3 (first print: June 2011 / second print: August 2011)

Tony Herbert (1902-1959) probably compiled the most consistent collection of Flemish modernism. He mainly concentrated on the work of six artists: Jean Brusselmans, Gust De Smet, Constant Permeke, Edgard Tytgat, Frits Van den Berghe and Rik Wouters Tony Herbert was not only an avid collector of their masterpieces, but also an influential promoter of their art.

This publication brings together the key works from the historical collection and examines the significance of the Collector in terms of the recognition of modern art in Belgium and abroad. The book contains new texts by Tanguy Eeckhout, Laurence Van Kerkhoven and Virginie Devillez & Florence Hespel, along with a conversation between Jan Debbaut, Jaap Guldemond and Anton Herbert held in 1999.

R.I.P. Tanguy Eeckhout (25 april 1980 – 5 januari 2018)